Oil & Gas

(1) What is the outlook of Malaysia oil and gas industry?

Malaysia is Southeast Asia’s second-biggest oil and natural-gas producer and the world’s second-largest liquefied natural gas exporter. Malaysia has not been spared the consequence of the dramatic decline in oil prices at the end of 2014-beginning 2015. The most prominent effect was the announcement by the national oil company of Malaysia, Petroliam NasionalBerhad (“PETRONAS”) that it would be looking to target a reduction in its capital expenditure by at least 15% and operational expenditure by 20%. In connection thereto, PETRONAS has introduced and led the Cost Reduction Alliance (known better as CORAL 2.0), an industry wide initiative involving 25 PSC Contractors with the stated aim of inculcating a “cost-conscious” mindset that will ultimately embrace a structural change of the upstream business environment of Malaysia, to benchmark efficiency with best-in-class performance and to increase collaboration and innovation as well as to infuse global best practices.
Pursuant to domestic legislation, PETRONAS exercises regulatory powers in respect of the upstream sector. All functions relating to upstream regulation and governance relating to domestic oil and gas is exercised by a division within PETRONAS known as the Malaysia Petroleum Management.

(2) What are the regulatory framework and commercial agreements applicable to the oil and gas industry of Malaysia?

Pursuant to the Petroleum Development Act 1974 (“PDA”), the entire ownership in, and the exclusive rights, powers, liberties, privileges of exploring, winning and obtaining petroleum onshore and offshore Malaysia were vested in PETRONAS. The PDA and the Petroleum Regulation 1974 (Petroleum Regulation) enacted pursuant to the PDA represent the key legislative enactments that govern oil and gas exploration and production activities both onshore and offshore in Malaysia.
There are other laws and regulations that make up the general framework governing the oil and gas exploration and production industry in Malaysia. They include the Petroleum (Safety Measures) Act 1984 (PSMA) and the regulations made thereunder, which govern the transportation, storage and handling of oil and oil products, and the Environmental Quality Act 1974 (EQA), which is the main legislation governing the protection of the environment and the prevention of oil spills and pollutants on land and in Malaysian waters. As many of Malaysia’s oilfields are situated in its exclusive economic zone, the Exclusive Economic Zone Act 1984 (EEZA), which governs activities in Malaysia’s exclusive economic zone also plays a key part in regulating oil activities in Malaysia.

Typical Commercial Agreements:
Apart from the above listed legislations, typically there is a number of contractual documents involved in the exploration and production industry business. These documents include the following:-

Granting Instruments

(a) Production Sharing Contracts (“PSC”); and
(b) Risk Service Contract (“RSC”).

Commercial Agreements for Petroleum Operations:

(a) Production Handling and Operating Support Agreement;
(b) Construction and Tie-In Agreement;
(c) Oil Nomination, Allocation and Lifting Agreement;
(d) Petroleum Facilities Operation and Maintenance Agreement; and
(e) Floating Production Storage Offloading Leasing Agreements.

Commercial Agreements for Products Monetization:

(a) Gas Sales Agreement;
(b) Condensate Sales Agreement; and
(c) Crude Oil Sales Agreement.

Service Contracts between PSC Contractors and Services Providers/Suppliers:

(a) Seismic Acquisition Contract;
(b) Seismic Reprocessing Contract;
(c) Drilling Rig Contract;
(d) Ancillary Agreements related to drilling activities;
(e) Front-End Engineering Design contracts;
(f) Engineering, Procurement, Construction, Installation and Commissioning Contracts;
(g) Major Equipment & Parts Procurement and Supply Agreements;
(h) Major Equipment & parts Long Term Maintenance Agreements;
(i) Bareboat Charters Agreement;
(j) Manpower Supply Agreement;
(k) Project Development and Management Agreement;
(l) Operations and Maintenance Agreement;
(m) Technical Service Agreement;
(n) Air and Sea Logistic Agreements; and
(o) Offshore Catering Agreements.

The list above is by no means exhaustive, and differs from project to project and the contracting out of the above contracts by the PSC/RSC Operator to third party contractor will normally require the prior approval of PETRONAS.

(3) What are the fiscal terms applicable to Production Sharing Contracts?

The State derives value from the exploration and production of oil and natural gas in a number of ways:

(a) Direct participation in the PSC
Every PSC awarded shall include PETRONAS Carigali as a PSC Contractor which allows the State a direct interest in the PSC awarded.

(b) Royalties
Under the PSC framework, 10 per cent of all petroleum won and saved by PSC Contractors is paid to PETRONAS in order to satisfy payment of royalties under the PDA.

(c) PETRONAS’s share of Petroleum under the PSC
Under the PSC framework, PETRONAS is entitled to a certain proportion of profit oil/profit gas from crude oil and natural gas produced based on a pre-determined formula.

(d) Supplemental Payment
Under the PSC framework, PSC Contractors are required to make supplemental cash payments to PETRONAS for such portion of the PSC Contractor’s portion of the profit oil/profit gas which exceeds the specified base price agreed in the PSC.

(e) Income Tax revenue
Petroleum income tax is chargeable for income derived from upstream exploration and production operations under the Petroleum (Income Tax) Act 1967 (PITA).

(f) Export Duty

Export duty is levied on the portion of the contractor’s share of profit oil exported out of Malaysia.

石油与天然气

(1) 马来西亚石油和天然煤气业的局势如何?

马来西亚是东南亚国家中第二大石油和天然煤气生产国,也是世界第二大液化天然气出产国。马来西亚受到2014年末至2015年初,油价急速下滑的负面影响。最显著的影响就是马来西亚国家石油公司(“PETRONAS”)宣布预计将减少资本支出的最少15%,以及减少20%的运营开支。此外,PETRONAS发动成本消减联盟(称CORAL 2.0),即涉及整个企业行动,25个生产分成合同的承包商,其目的是为了灌输一种“注意开支”的思维,因而启动马来西亚探勘生产营业环境的架构性变化、以高效力的标准来标签最佳表现、提升合作与创意、以及融合世界级的优良习惯。
基于相关本地法律,PETRONAS拥有对于探勘生产企业的执行权力。所有有关本地石油和煤气探勘生产的管理将由PETRONAS的一个部门,称马来西亚石油管制部 (Malaysia Petroleum Management),所监管。

(2) 在马来西亚石油和天然煤气业可使用的监管范围和企业合同有什么?

依据1974年石油开发法(“PDA”),PETRONAS全权拥有探索、开采和取得马来西亚海洋和陆地石油的权利、自由和特权。PDA以及依据PDA所拟定的1974年石油细则象征马来西亚所有石油和煤气开采活动的主要法律。

马来西亚石油和煤气探索和生产业的整体监管范围也由其它法律和细则所构成。这包括1984年石油(安全防护措施)法(PSMA)以及该法令下所拟定的细则,用于管理石油和石油产品的运输、储藏和处理;和1974年环境质量法(EQA),是一项有关环境保护和防止石油泄漏进而避免大马陆地和海面受污染的主要法令。由于许多马来西亚的油田都位于其专属经济区,1984年专属经济区法( EEZA ),即管理马来西亚的专属经济区活动,也发挥了在马来西亚调节油脂活动的角色。

典型的商业合约
除了以上所列的法令,一般涉及勘探业和生产商业的合同如下:-

赋权文件
(a) 生产分成合同 (“PSC”); 和
(b) 风险服务合同 (“RSC”).

石油作业的商业合同
(a) 生产处理和运营支持合约;
(b) 建设和搭售协议;
(c) 石油开发、分配和提炼协议;
(d) 石油设备的运作和维护协议;和
(e) 浮式生产储存卸货装置(FPSO)租赁协议

产品变卖商业合约
(a) 煤气买卖合约;
(b) 冷凝买卖了合约;和
(c) 原油买卖合约.

生产分成合同承包商和服务供应商之间的服务合同:
(a) 地震的采集合同;
(b) 地震的处理合同;
(c) 钻机合同;
(d) 石油钻探的附属协议;
(e) 前端工程设计合同;
(f) 工程、采购、施工、安装和调试合同;
(g) 主要仪器及设备零件采购和供应合同;
(h) 主要仪器及设备零件长期维修合同;
(i) 净船租赁合同;
(j) 人力供应合同;
(k) 项目开发和管理合同;
(l) 运营和管理合同;
(m) 技术服务合同;
(n) 空海运输合同; 和
(o) 室外饮食供应合同。

以上所列并不是完整的,也会因各个项目而有所不同。PSC/RSC官员承包给第三者服务前,通常都需要PETRONAS的事先批准。

(3) 什么财政条款适用于生产分成合同?
政府可以从勘探石油生产和天然气中获得以下利益:

(a) 直接参与生产分成合同
政府授予的每一个生产分成合同都必须参与国家石油公司PETRONAS Carigali,以作生产分成合同的承包商,以让国家授予生产分成合同时获得直接的利益。

(b) 矿区土地使用费
根据生产分成合同的框架,生产分成合同的承包商会把所有赢得并保存的石油10%支付给马来西亚国家石油公司PETRONAS,以满足根据石油发展法令所定下必须缴付的矿区土地使用费。

(c) 马来西亚国家石油公司PETRONAS在生产分成合同里有石油的股份PETRONAS’s share of Petroleum under the PSC
根据生产分成合同的框架,马来西亚国家石油公司PETRONAS将享有石油和天然气利润的预先设定公式比例。

(d) 额外付款
根据生产分成合同的框架,要求生产分成合同承包商额外补充现金,就其超过生产分成合同指定石油/天然气基准价格所获取的承包商利润,支付给马来西亚国家石油公司PETRONAS。

(e) 收入所得税
石油所得税是根据1967年石油(所得税)法令(PITA),上游的勘探与生产业务所得。

(f) 出口税
出口税是承包商从马来西亚出口石油所获得的利润。