Manufacturing

(1) Who are the authorities regulating the manufacturing industry in Malaysia?

The authority regulating the manufacturing industry in Malaysia is the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (“MITI”) and MIDA, an agency under the purview of MITI, which is in charge of the promotion and coordination of industrial development in Malaysia.

(2) Who are required to apply for a manufacturing licence in Malaysia?

Manufacturing companies with shareholders’ funds of RM2.5 million and above or engaging 75 or more full-time paid employees are required to have a manufacturing license issued by the MITI. Applications for manufacturing licenses are to be submitted to MIDA.

(3) Is there any foreign equity restriction for the manufacturing industry in Malaysia?

Currently there are no general restriction against foreign equity ownership in the manufacturing industry in Malaysia save for certain activities that are of national and security interests. Since 17 June 2003, Malaysia has liberalised the manufacturing industry and foreign investors can hold 100% equity in all investments in new manufacturing projects, as well as investments in expansion/diversification projects by existing companies. Equity and export conditions imposed on companies prior to the liberalisation process undertaken in June 2003, however, remain effective. Companies can apply to MITI / MIDA for these conditions to be removed and approval will be given based on the merits of each case.

(4) Are there any investment incentives for manufacturing industry in Malaysia?

Yes. There are various incentives offered by the Malaysian government for the investors who invest in the manufacturing industry in Malaysia. Please click on MIDA FAQ to find out more about investment incentives in Malaysia.

制造业

(1) 马来西亚制造业是由什么机构管理?

马来西亚制造业受制于国际贸易和工业部(“MITI”)和MIDA,即MITI下属机构。MIDA主要负责推广与协调马来西亚制造业发展的监管机构。

(2) 有哪些公司在马来西亚需要申请生产许可证?

拥有250万令吉或以上的股东资金本或拥有75名或以上的全职受薪雇员的制造业企业都必须具有由MITI发出的生产许可证。生产许可证可以向MIDA提出申请。

(3) 马来西亚制造业是否对外国股权有所限制?

除了针对某些国家和安全利益的活动,目前马来西亚制造业对外国股权并没有广泛的限制。自2003年6月17日,马来西亚制造业自由开放,外国投资者可以在全部投资新的生产项目持有100%的股权,以及投资现有公司的扩张/多样化项目。但是2003年6月之前未开放,所定下的公司股权和出口条件仍然有效。公司可以向MITI / MIDA申请要求删除这些条件,所有的申请将根据每个案件的实况给予批准。

(4) 马来西亚制造业是否有任何投资的激励机制?

有。马来西亚政府给予在马来西亚投资的投资者各种各样的优惠政策。请点击MIDA FAQ,以了解更多关于在马来西亚的投资激励。