Forms of Business Organisation

(1) What are the forms of business organisation a person can establish to carry on business in Malaysia?

A number of entities can be used to establish a business presence in Malaysia, namely: (a) sole proprietorship; (b) partnership (conventional or limited liability); (c) locally incorporated company (limited by shares or guarantee or unlimited); (d) branch of foreign corporation; or (e) representative office.

Which entity should be used by a business depends primarily on the nature of the contemplated business activity. Factors to be taken into consideration include issues of liability, capital requirements and regulatory requirements.

(2) If a foreign corporation intends to have a presence in Malaysia to gather and analyse information for investment and business opportunities in Malaysia without carrying on any business, is there any alternative form of organisation available to the foreign corporation?

Yes. The foreign corporation can register with the Malaysian Government via the Malaysian Investment Development Authority (“MIDA”) as a representative office to collect relevant information on investment opportunities in Malaysia especially in the manufacturing and services sectors, enhance bilateral trade relations, promote the export of Malaysian goods and services and carry out research and development (R&D). The representative office is strictly not allowed to carry on any business activities in Malaysia, for e.g. the trading of goods, leasing of warehousing facilities, provision of goods or services for a fee or entry into contract with customers.

(3) Which is the most commonly used form of business organisation for a foreign investor in Malaysia and why?

A locally incorporated company limited by shares. Similar to companies limited by shares in other common law jurisdictions, it has a separate legal personality which is distinct and separate from the foreign investor and accordingly, any liability or contingent liability that may arise from its investment and commercial activities in Malaysia is limited to that of the local company. In other words, the foreign investor will not be personally or directly liable for the liabilities of the local company. In addition, the Malaysian government requires, as a matter of policy, businesses in certain industries (for e.g. distributive trade) to be undertaken by a locally incorporated company.

(4) What is a branch of foreign corporation?

A foreign branch is a branch/office registered by a foreign corporation with the Companies Commission of Malaysia (“CCM”) to carry on business in Malaysia. Unlike a locally incorporated company, it does not have separate legal personality and accordingly, the foreign corporation is responsible for any liability that may arise from its investment and commercial activities in Malaysia. It is easier to administer than a locally incorporated company and the closure of a branch is a simpler process compared to that of a company.

(5) What are the key requirements of incorporating a local company?

Some key requirements of incorporating a local company are as follows:

(a) A minimum of one Malaysian resident director.
(b) A minimum of one Malaysian resident qualified company secretary.
(c) A minimum of one person to be named as first subscribers in the Articles of Association of the company.
(d) The registered office of the local company must be situated in Malaysia.
(e) Each of the subscribers is required to subscribe no less than one share in the company. In practice, the nominal value of the shares in the company is typically RM1 for each share.

(6) Is there any fee payable for registration of share capital of a local company?

Yes. The registration fees (commonly known as capital duty) is payable to CCM. The registration fee is RM1000.

(7) Are there any websites which a prospective investor may look for more detailed information on procedures of establishing a local presence in Malaysia or some useful information on investment in Malaysia?

Yes. Please visit the website of CCM at https://www.ssm.com.my/en for the procedures on establishment of a local presence in Malaysia and the website of MIDA at http://www.mida.gov.my/home/ for further information on investment in the manufacturing and services sectors in Malaysia.

企业组织形式

(1) 在马来西亚可以建立哪些形式的企业组织以展开业务?

在马来西亚行商方法有:(a)独资经营企业;(二)合伙企业(普通或有限公司);(三)本地注册的公司(股份限制、或担保限制、或无限公司);(四)外国分行;或(五)代表处。

该应用的实体取决于预期业务活动的性质。要考虑的因素包括负债问题,资本需求和监管要求。

(2) 有没有任何其它组织,可以提供给外国公司,让它在没有进行任何业务的情况下,在马来西亚设立组织,以便收集和分析在马来西亚投资和商业机会的讯息?

有。外国公司可以通过马来西亚投资发展局(“MIDA”)向马来西亚政府登记,以设立代表处来收集马来西亚,特别是制造业和服务业投资机会的相关信息,加强双边贸易关系,促进出口马来西亚的商品和服务,和开展研究与发展(R&D)。该代表处是严格不被允许在马来西亚进行任何商业活动,例如商品交易,仓储设施的租赁业务,提供收费的货物或服务供应或与客户合作业务。

(3) 外国投资者在马来西亚最常用的商业组织形式是什么?这是为什么?

本地注册成立的股份有限公司。此组织相似于与其他普通法管辖区的股份有限公司,它具有个别,独立的法人资格,与国外投资者的法人资格相互独立,因此,外国投资者在马来西亚的投资和商业活动所引起的任何责任或负债仅限于该公司。换句话说,外国投资者不会亲自或直接为该当地企业负起法律责任。此外,马来西亚政府政策规定,某些行业(例如用于分销贸易)必须由本地注册成立的公司承担进行。

(4) 什么是外国分行?

外国分行是注册于马来西亚公司委员会(“CCM”)的分行/办事处。有别于本地注册的公司,它不具有独立法人资格,因此,外国公司必须负起在马来西亚的投资和商业活动而引起的法律责任。外国分行比本地注册成立的公司较容易管理,关闭外国分行也比关闭本地注册的公司简单。

(5) 创办一家本地注册的公司主要条件是什么?

创办本地注册的公司条件如下:

(a) 至少一名居住在马来西亚的董事长。.
(b) 至少一名居住在马来西亚的合格公司秘书。
(c) 至少一名为公司章程的命名申请人。
(d) 该公司的注册办事处必须在马来西亚。
(e) 该命名申请人必须申请公司不少于的一个股份。一般实际操作上,公司股份的每股价格是1令吉。

(6) 注册一家本地公司的股本是否需要缴付任何费用?

是。必须缴付登记费(俗称资本税)给马来西亚公司委员会(“CCM”)。登记费是1000令吉。

(7) 有什么网站,可以提供给一个潜在的投资者,关于在马来西亚或在当地设立公司程序更详细的讯息或关于在马来西亚投资的一些有用的讯息?

有。请游览马来西亚公司委员会(“CCM”)的官方网站https://www.ssm.com.my/en以获取在马来西亚成立名声以及游览马来西亚投资发展局(“MIDA”)的官方网站http://www.mida.gov.my/home/,以获取在马来西亚制造业和服务业的更详细讯息。