Chairman of Malaysia-China Business Council New Year Message 2019

01 Jan 2019

85364095-14a7-4208-9938-bb6457fa83e2As we usher in 2019, I wish to reflect on the eventful year of 2018 that had witnessed the formation of a new government.  Against this backdrop, the bilateral relationship between Malaysia and China remains strong in particular the trade and investment sector. The trade figures between the two nations remain impressive and the tourists’ arrival from China as of Sept 2018 had surpassed the whole 2017 figure.

I am honored to be appointed as the new Chairman of Malaysia-China Business Council (MCBC) as well as the Malaysia Special Envoy to PR China. I must record my appreciation to my predecessor for the good groundwork done on MCBC since its official incorporation in 2012.

2019 will be a challenging year for the global economy but I am confident of the enhancement of economic activities between Malaysia and China. In this connection, I wish to inform that the MCBC has set up sub committees relating to the Culture and Tourism, Technology and Academic as well as Research apart from trade and investment to widen the outreach of MCBC. We have also appointed a new director each from Sabah and Sarawak for the first time to represent their region’s interest in the promotion of trade and investment between Malaysia and China.

May I take this opportunity to wish everyone a Happy New Year and may the year 2019 be a fruitful year for the enhancement of trade and investment between Malaysia and China.

Tan Kok Wai
Chairman, Malaysia-China Business Council

2019年马中商务理事会主席新年献词

2019年01月01日 星期二

85364095-14a7-4208-9938-bb6457fa83e2迎接新的2019年,我们回首过去一年,最重要的大事就是见证了新政府的成立。在新形势下,马中关系保持强劲的势头,尤其是在经贸及投资领域。马中贸易总额维持在高水平,而2018年首9个月访马的中国游客人次,已超越2017年全年的总数。

我很荣幸被委为新任的马中商务理事会主席兼马来西亚对华特使。我谨此感谢前任主席自2012年马中商务理事会正式成为法定组织以来,为本会所付出的努力并铺下坚实的基础。

2019年对全球经济而言,将是充满挑战性的一年,无论如何,我对马中经贸关系的正面发展充满信心。马中商务理事会已扩大传统的贸易及投资范畴,成立了有关文化及旅游、科技、学术及研究的委员会。我们也首次委任了来自沙巴和砂拉越的代表进入本会的董事局,以促进东马与中国的经贸投资业务。

我谨此恭祝各界2019年新年快乐,祝愿马中经贸关系在新的一年,百尺竿头,更进一步!

谢谢!

陈国伟

马中商务理事会主席